Series authors dominate shortlist for Kindle Storyteller 2019 Award

Five books have been picked for the shortlist for the Kindle Storyteller Award 2019 £20,000 prize. All five are novels and three of them are in the Mystery Thriller Suspense market while one is in the Romance sector and one in Young Adult Fantasy.

The shortlist is:

  • The Army of Wolves by Claire Moore (YA Fantasy)
  • The Bookshop of Hopes and Dreams by Hannah Ellis (Contemporary romcom)
  • I Have Sinned by Caimh McDonnell (Crime thriller/satire)
  • The Picture on the Fridge by Ian W Sainsbury (Psychological thriller)
  • Tragedy at Piddleton Hotel by Emily Organ (Cozy mystery)[clear-line]

The Bookshop of Hopes and Dreams is the sixth novel in the very popular Hope Cove series by Hannah Ellis who has also written the Friends Like These romcom series.

Ian W Sainsbury has previously published some metaphysical fiction books but The Picture on the Fridge is his first venture into the psychological thriller genre.

Tragedy at Piddleton Hotel is the first book in Emily Organ’s Churchill and Pemberley series featuring a pair of elderly amateur sleuths. She has previously written the Penny Green Victorian mystery series which has sold over 400,00 copies.

Claire Moore is the only debut author on the shortlist and her epic fantasy Young Adult novel The Army of Wolves is another first book in a series, The Half-God War series.

I Have Sinned by stand-up comedian and author Caimh McDonnell is a crime pulp thriller comedy and is the second in the McGarry Stateside series, which is itself a continuation of the best-selling Dublin Trilogy.

All five books on the shortlist look good. In terms of numbers of reviews, I Have Sinned is way ahead of the others with over 200 reviews (five-star average) while the others range from around 30 reviews to over 50 on the UK Kindle store.

However, the shortlist will be judged by an all-star panel who are looking for quality of writing, originality and creativity

The panel includes TV presenter and host of podcast Books to Live By Mariella Frostrup, last year’s Storyteller Award winner Hannah Lynn, self-publishing best-selling authors L J Ross and Mark Dawson, and Orna Ross, founder of the Alliance of Independent Authors.

The winner of the award will be announced in October and will be considered, along with other Kindle award winners, for an Amazon Studios deal to make their book into a film.

Third year for Kindle Storyteller Award 2019 with £20,000 cash prize for KDP Select authors

Prime video production deal with $10,000 advance added to Kindle Storyteller 2019 incentives