Smashing title wins new Selfies award for indie writers

A new award for self-published writers has picked Smash All The Windows by Jane Davis as its first winner from a short list of eight titles.

The runner-up in the Selfies 2019 was Lady Helena Investigates by Jane Steen, which is the first book in a Victorian mystery saga planned to span seven titles.

The Selfies Awards is a contest for UK-based authors of adult fiction, although the organisers are planning to extend the scope of the awards. The prize for the 2019 winner was £1,500 plus a book cover design and a promotion campaign worth £1,000. The award was organised by BookBrunch together with the London Book Fair, Bookollective and IngramSpark.

Award winner Jane Davis has published eight novels and Smash All The Windows looks at the continuing aftermath of a major public disaster. One of her previous novels — An Unknown Woman — was Writing Magazine’s Self-Published Book of the Year 2016.

The judges of the Selfies were impressed that Jane Davis is an all-rounder in the self-publishing process, taking on editing, production, marketing and sales. On her website she thanks the contributions made by a team of around 35 people, including beta readers.

The judges were looking for:

  • A fantastic story that entertains and delights the reader
  • A well produced ebook or print book
  • An enticing cover and blurb that successfully addresses the target audience
  • An effective and creative marketing and publicity strategy
  • Great sales potential

The all-women short list for the award comprised:

  • Once Upon a Blue Moon  by Anita Belli
  • Smash all the Windows by Jane Davis
  • Tangent by Caroline Goldsworthy
  • He is Mine by Mel Gough
  • Faith, Hope and Trickery by Susan Grossey
  • A Spoke in the Wheel by Kathleen Jowitt
  • In Servitude by Heleen Kist
  • Lady Helena Investigates by Jane Steen