Wattys 2018 open for entries with 12 new categories

The Watty Awards 2018 are now open for entries and submissions will close on August 1, 2018.

The Wattys is a massively popular writing contest that has been running since 2010 and has 12 new categories this year to recognize the diversity of stories and writers on Wattpad.

The categories are:

  • The Originals
  • The Breakthroughs
  • The Storysmiths
  • The Hidden Gems
  • The Heartbreakers
  • The Worldbuilders
  • The Heroes
  • The Change Makers
  • The Contemporaries
  • The Revisionists
  • The Wild Cards
  • The Poets

Submissions should be tagged #WATTYS2018.” You don’t need to use a tag for any of the categories.

To be eligible, stories must have been written in 2018 or have a minimum of five chapters published after August 2, 2017.

Incomplete stories are eligible but must have a minimum of five chapters. If the stories are less than five chapters they must be complete.

You can submit as many stories as you like. There is a limit of one Watty award per story.

Longlisted entries will be notified and announced late August the judges and data scientists have had a chance to review the submissions.

The shortlisted entries will be evaluated and announced in mid-September and the Wattys Awards winners will be announced at the end of September.

You can find out more about The Wattys 2018 at Wattpad.

Wattpad Futures adds ads to stories and pays writers a cut of the cash