Indie publisher Joffe Books reaches total of 10 million book sales

Independent UK publisher Joffe Books has hit the 10 million mark in total sales of books since it was set up in 2014 by Jasper Joffe.

The company sold 2.1 million books in 2020 as it continued its successful policy of republishing backlist titles and discovering new talent. In 2019, Joffe bought the Robert Hale backlist from Crowood Press and extended its core list of crime and mystery to include sagas, historical and romance.

In 2020, Joffe Books bought the rights to Nicholas Rhea’s Constable Nick series, Murder Squad founder Margaret Murphy’s acclaimed backlist of thrillers and the whole of Faith Martin’s romance list, written under the pseudonym Maxine Barry. The firm also launched a partnership with Severn House to bring such  best-selling authors as Stella Cameron and Judith Cutler to a new audience.

Joffe Books accepts submissions from writers. Its favourite genres are crime fiction, mysteries, psychological thrillers, cosy crime, police procedurals, chillers, suspense and domestic noir but will also consider women’s fiction, historical fiction and romance novels. You can find out more details on the Joffe Books website.

Authors signed up by Joffe Books recently include:

  • British-born Canadian author Jackie Elliott with a three-book deal for her Coffin Cove crime series. The series is set in a fishing village and the first book will be published in spring 2021.
  • Gretta Mulrooney with the eighth book in the Tyrone Swift private detective series.
  • Linda Mather with her Zodiac Mysteries. The first three books in the series will be republished and followed by a new fourth addition.
  • Judi Daykin, whose debut novel, Under Violent Skies, will be followed by the second book in the Sarah Hirst series in spring 2021.
  • Former detective turned novelist, Rebecca Bradley with the first book of her new series featuring DI Claudia Nunn in spring 2021.
  • South Africa-born Biba Pearce with the first three books in her DCI Rob Hill series.
  • Norman Russell with his new complete five-part Old Minister police procedural series. The author’s Inspector Antrobus Victorian crime fiction series is set to be republished in late 2021.

Severn up for Joffe Books deal with crime backlist leading the way

Back to the backlist as crime author Faith Martin sells over a million Hillary Greene ebooks in a year

Bookouture founder Oliver Rhodes quitting to set up new publishing firm