Self-publishing star takes second spot in Amazon UK’s list of best-selling book series of all-time

Self-publishing author L J Ross is the runner-up on’s list of the best-selling book series on the site since it was launched in 1998.

The Jack Reacher thrillers by Lee Child take the top spot, followed by L J Ross in second with the DCI Ryan Mysteries, and Peter James’s series of Roy Grace books in third place.

Another early self-publishing author Angela Marsons, is in fourth place with the Detective Kim Stone series. Marsons started out self-publishing her novels before signing a publishing deal with Bookouture.

The top five is rounded off with J K Rowling’s Harry Potter books.

L J Ross self-published her first DCI Ryan book, Holy Island, in 2015 and published the 19th novel in the series in March 2022. Her books have been phenomenally successful and her website says she has sold more than seven million novels.

She was a lawyer before becoming a crime fiction author and has set up her own publishing imprint, Dark Skies Publishing. The DCI Ryan series is set in Northumberland in the North-east of England.

Her books are available in Kindle Unlimited, which might well have boosted her ranking in the series list, although Amazon doesn’t make it clear whether KU is included in the assessments. As well as the DCI Ryan series, L J Ross also has two other series of novels. says the list of best-selling book series is based on sales and downloads across print and digital books up to May 2022. 

Best-selling book series on Amazon UK Top 10 (all-time figures to May 2022)

1: Jack Reacher series by Lee Child

2: DCI Ryan Mysteries by L J Ross

3: Roy Grace series by Peter James

4: Detective Kim Stone series by Angela Marsons

5: Harry Potter series by J K Rowling

6: Diary of a Wimpy Kid series by Jeff Kinney

7: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin

8: Discworld series by Terry Pratchett

9: Harry Bosch series by Michael Connelly

10: The Clifton Chronicles by Jeffrey Archer